Buttle Lake in Strathcona Park

I thought this was going to be my new portfolio website but since I cant seem to set up proper galleries I guess I will treat this as a personal photo diary of my creative process.

Buttle Lake in Strathcona Park is one of my favorite spots to visit on the island. I always seem to gravitate to this one spot in particular that shows traces of the past with all these cool stumps some half submerged on the lake shore. There is a campsite right next to this place so access is easy and I was able to stay out late under the stars and return to a comfy campfire to warm up. You never know what you are going to encounter when out in the landscape but when something special happens its the greatest feeling ever.

Fire from the sky

I set up a timelapse to create star trails taking 30 second exposures continuously for about 1.5 hrs during which I was pleasantly greeted to this huge fire ball falling from the sky. It was bright red and very intense however the camera recorded it as a white streak, the reflection however is multi-colored. This shot is a combination of two exposures during the process. Here are a few others from the sequence. This was the night before the full supermoon so the night recorded almost as day.

The day started with rain on the way up but cleared when I arrived at this spot. I started shooting the sunset first and finished well into the night.

Leave a Reply

