Tofino

I decided to take the week of April 23-May 1 off from work and headed up to Tofino and Ucluelet for a few days. After driving through heavy rain most of the way up I arrived at Bella Pacifica Campground located about 2 km from Tofino.  The rain was so heavy that after I parked in my spot I never got out of the van till the next morning, luckily I was pretty comfortable and watched a couple of movies to pass the time. Next day I awoke to sunny, cloudless skies so I headed to chesterman beach which was just down the road.

I walked out to the rocks at the end of the beach to capture the waves with lighthouse in the background. I was happy to have the place to myself for awhile but it wasn’t till I looked back shortly after starting to shoot that realized why I was alone. The tide had come in on both sides of me trapping me on this outcropping of rocks. I immediately started to panic and grabbed my tripod and bag and ran to the edge to the beach and took off my shoes, rolled up my pants and started booking it out of there. I could tell it was still coming in but I had no idea how long I had before it went out again so I didn’t hesitate, I was up to over my knees, treading as fast as I could. It definitely got my heart pounding for a short while anyways, good thing it wasn’t that far to go and it was in the middle of the day. I just didn’t want to be stranded out there for who knows how long.

_MG_9669 copy _MG_9664 copy _MG_9661 copy _MG_9652 copy _MG_9648 copy _MG_9647 copy

Seeing how I was now kinda wet I headed back to camp and started a fire to dry out a bit and wait for sunset. I usually get all clouds or no clouds when I go shooting and this time was no different. I used the patterns on the beach as my foreground as there isn’t much to focus on.

_MG_9704 copy _MG_9749 copy _MG_9772 copy

Later that night I pointed the camera up at the stars as the campfire created some cool lighting of the forest.

_MG_9778 copy _MG_9782 copy _MG_9788 copy _MG_9785 copy _MG_9783 copy

 

I ended the night setting up a timelapse for some star trails, managed to pull it off in my campsite so I didn’t have to leave the fire. The first shot is before the condensation on the lens started to form,which is just one of the many variables involved in getting a successful shot. The middle image is all the frames blended together and the last one is the final shot in the sequence.

StarStaX_gap_filling StarStaX__MG_9796-_MG_9924_gap_filling _MG_9924 copy

This was the end of my first 2 days.

4 thoughts on “Tofino

  1. Martin Contant May 11, 2016 / 4:45 am

    Dave, such stunning pictures! Glad you and your equipment made it to safety as the tide came in. We have learned to respect the tides, particularly on the East Coast -Bay of Fundy. The night shots illumined by the fire are beautiful. You have an artist’s eye and the ability to bring it all together. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dave Mantel May 12, 2016 / 1:43 am

      Hi Martin, i really appreciate getting an actual comment on here,thank you for taking the time to have a look and your kind words. It’s amazing how fast the seas can change ,i can’t imagine such a dramatic shift out east,so cool. I learned my lesson. Thanks again

      Like

  2. Anonymous May 11, 2016 / 5:46 pm

    Wow, Dave you are one gifted photographer! Beautiful pictures and thankful you and the expensive equipment are safe!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dave Mantel May 12, 2016 / 1:45 am

      Thank you!! Yes,all equipment remained dry! Thanks for the visit!

      Like

Leave a Reply

